Reminder: SAQ Grimeton Transmission

9280d3b4-8da8-4bf8-8856-48ea85dbf8cd

UN-Day, 24th October 2021

The Life of Ernst Alexanderson: RadioUser, November 2021: 52-54

On United Nations Day, Sunday, 24th October 2021, the unique and historical Alexanderson alternator in Grimeton Sweden, with callsign SAQ, is scheduled to send out a message to the entire world on 17.2kHz CW. The station has been in touch to share the following information:

 

Program and Transmission Schedule:

15:30 CET (13:30 UTC): World Heritage Grimeton for visitors at the Visitor's Center

16:00 CET (14:00 UTC): Transmitter Hall visit for visitors.

 

Transmission & YouTube Live stream:

16:25 CET (14:25 UTC): Live stream begins.

16:30 CET (14:30 UTC): Startup and tuning of the Alexanderson Alternator SAQ.

17:00 CET (15:00 UTC): Transmission of a message from SAQ.

 

YouTube Live Stream:

17:20 (15:20 UTC): Live music concert from the transmitter hall. More details to follow on our website. This year’s message has been composed by the Swedish human rights lawyer and sustainability expert Ms Parole Sharma.

 

Test Transmissions:

SAQ are planning to conduct test transmission on October 22nd, approximately between 13:00 CET (11:00 UTC) and 16:00 CET (14:00 UTC). SAQ will be on air for shorter periods during this interval when we will be conducting some tests and measurements. Your comments are welcome; please send them to:

[email protected]

 

Live Video from World Heritage Grimeton Radio Station:

Scheduled at 16:25 CET (14:25 UTC) on October 24th, 2021

 

QSL Reports to SAQ:

QSL reports to SAQ are most welcome and appreciated!

For guaranteed E-QSL from us, please report using our ONLINE FORM.

Content continues after advertisements

We cannot guarantee that reports by Email/mail/bureau will be confirmed.

The online form will be open from October 24th until November 14th.

 

Amateur Radio Station SK6SAQ:

 

The Amateur Radio Station with the call “SK6SAQ” will be QRV on the following frequencies; two stations will be on the air most of the time.

 

  • 3.535kHz CW
  • 7.035kHz CW
  • 14.035KHz CW
  • 3.755kHz SSB
  • 7.140kHz SSB

 

QSL Reports:

QSL-reports to SK6SAQ (NOT SAQ) are kindly received via:

Email to [email protected]

SM Bureau

Postal mail

 

Visiting World Heritage Grimeton Radio Station

Visitors are most welcome to World Heritage Grimeton Radio Station on UN-DAY 2021.

www.grimeton.org 

 

Members of the Alexander association will have a 10% discount on entry, shop and activities. Not a member yet? Then it's time to join the Alexander team! We welcome you as a member of the Alexander Grimeton Friendship Association, to support our non-profit activities in preserving, documenting and bringing to life the unique Alexanderson alternator from 1924. As a member, you get a 10% discount on World Heritage Grimeton's entry, shop and activities, and free admission to Alexander's evening displays and the Alexanderson Day, upon presentation of your membership card. Four times per year, you will receive our online magazine Alternatorn, exclusively available only to our members. Alexander members also have free admission to the Radio Museum in Gothenburg. Membership costs SEK 125 / year.

 

N.B.: All transmissions with the long-wave transmitter SAQ are preliminary and may be cancelled at short notice.

 

(Source: SAQ; https://alexander.n.se/en