Latest Posts
Paul O’Grady
29 March 2023
Radiodays Europe 2023
28 March 2023
Podcast Series Made by AI
23 March 2023
21 March 2023

New Year’s Honours


Many Radio Presenters Celebrated


The 2022 Media Stars 

Presenters Moira Stuart, Kate Garraway, Margherita Taylor and Mark Murphy, plus Choice FM co-founder Neil Kenlock have been recognised in the New Year Honours. Radio Tyneside Chairman Dave Nicholson is also honoured, along with David Sharp, Station Manager at Academy FM in Folkestone and former Radiocentre CEO Siobhan Kenny.

Dave Nicholson MBE has been awarded the OBE for his work with the station and the community. He has been involved with the hospital radio station for almost 50 years. He was awarded the MBE in 1997 for his 28 years of work with the Civil Service. Dave said about receiving the OBE: “I am honoured to be considered for this award and it has been a pleasure to have worked with the volunteers past and present who have made Radio Tyneside the success it is.”

Former Radiocentre CEO Siobhan Kenny was awarded an MBE for services to commercial radio and young people, and BBC Radio Suffolk breakfast presenter Mark Murphy got an MBE for his services to radio and the community in Suffolk. David Sharp has been awarded an MBE for services to Broadcasting and to Education in Canterbury.

Content continues after advertisements

Radio presenter Margherita Taylor gets an MBE for services to Broadcasting and Diversity, whilst Smooth Radio host Kate Garraway has been made an MBE after documenting her husband Derek Draper’s battle with coronavirus. Moira Stuart has been made a CBE for her services to the media. She was previously made an OBE for services to broadcasting in the Queen’s Birthday Honours in 2001.

(Sources: Roy Martin | RadioToday)